little island

the universe cares very much

I just finished reading The Ministry of Time. As with most novels, I found it on Libby, and since the hold time felt like forever (77 people or something), I found it by other means and stayed up all night reading it.

I move next week. Sooner, if I can.

My purse got lifted weekend before this last one. I spent the week grieving. I loved that bag. Not just sentimental; my Aunt gave it to me a few years ago. It was beautiful and functional and perfect. Several pockets, adjustable staps. Parrot green with purple/red motifs (paisleys, although I never think of them that way). Losing money is not so bad, the bank always catches fraud. To lose a beautiful thing, that you use a lot, that reminds you of home -- that is sad.

I also lost my keys. Including the one to my new place. So moving will be fun I guess.

My friend contrasted the grief with the week before. My birthday week was kicked off by a very magical beach celebration. BBQ food, the most delicious. Sun sun sun, a favorite. We held hands in the water and there was an impromptu birthday ritual. Just magic.

I like to think of the universe as playful. And although I don't always understand its humor, I guess it gives me extremes sometimes. I wonder if it thinks purposefully in its pranks.

There's the whole thing about the universe being uncaring. But I notice in myself the feeling that -- the universe cares very much. It just cares more about humor than personal highs and lows. What could be the greatest comedy?

I wonder if this thought will change.

I am hoping to bake a cake today. This week, at least. That would be nice.

#everyday